You’ve probably been in a situation where you wanted to send a private message to someone without leaving any traces of it behind. But even with all the messaging applications we can find online, nothing is ever discreet.
Whatever you do on the internet stays forever, but what if there was a way to send messages that only the receiver can read, and then it disappeared forever? No trace whatsoever!
That’s exactly what One-Time Notes can do.
Now you never have to worry about sending messages containing sensitive and private information to friends, family or colleagues.
One-Time Notes Are literally made for you to share all your top secret messages through the internet but leave no trace of it. The whole point is to get the cryptic message over to the concerned person, and once the message has been received, it is wiped off the face of the earth.
Want to know more about how this works?
Continue reading and see what these Time Notes are all about.
What Is A One-Time Note?
As the name suggests, a one-time note is a secret note that can only be shared with a third party ONCE. The system will generate a one-time link to the encrypted message, and you can share this link with the receiver, who, upon opening and reading the message, the data is wiped, and the link becomes inactive.
All the day that you enter in the note is encrypted, so it can only be accessed by the person with whom you have shared the link to the note. Even the app or website through which you send the one-time note does not save the link on their servers, so they don’t have access to any data.
This is a one-and-true way to share top-secret information with a third party for a one-time view.
But Why Would Anyone Need This?
While there might have been a time when secret messages were handwritten and sent through mail and pigeons, it is not secure anymore. Anyone can hack your device and access your information in the blink of an eye.
Data brokers even sell stolen information on the dark web, which includes your login credentials, social security numbers, credit card details, passwords and much more private information.
Hence, to avoid such a tragedy, one-time notes can help you share your private messages with a third party without leaving anything for these hackers to trace or sniff out.
How Does It Work?
With one-time notes, you enter your secret message in the area where you are directed to type your message. After that, you can generate a one-time link to share with the third party (the receiver of the encrypted message).
When the receiver opens or accesses the link you shared, the data is destroyed and the link is no longer active, so there’s no way that another person can use the same link to access your secret message.
Are One-Time Notes Different From One-Time Messages On Other Social Media Platforms?
If you’re active on social media, you probably might know all the different ways that these platforms are trying to make their messages encrypted and secure. However, it is not the same as one-time notes and their security.
For example, you can stop the receiver from viewing your message multiple times or go back to view it again; there are certain loopholes, like taking screenshots, that can kill the whole purpose of sending the one-time message in the first place.
Some of the features of the one-time message you can use on popular social media platforms are:
On WhatsApp, you can send a message as a video or a photo which can be set to view only once. Once it is opened, the receiver or the sender cannot view the same message again.
WhatsApp also has a Disappearing messages option which erases all messages between two people after a set period of time.
Even though Snapchat did not invent the disappearing or view once feature, it made this feature popular among social media platforms. Whatever pictures or videos, and texts you send on Snapchat will disappear after you view them unless you decide to save them in the chat.
Messenger also has a disappearing messages feature that can be used separately from the regular/ normal messages thread.
Telegram has an option for secret chats, which work like one-time or disappearing messages.
Instagram also allows you to send pictures or videos and set it to view once only so that once the message has been opened; it disappears, so you cannot view it again.
However, as mentioned, the loophole with these kinds of features is that anyone can take a screenshot and keep the message for a longer period of time than intended.
How to Send a One-Time Note
Get on the website through which you want to send the one-time note
Type the message you want to convey
Generate the one-time link
Copy and send the link to the receiver
When the receiver clicks on the link, they will be taken to the secret message you wrote.
The data gets destroyed once they view the message, and the link becomes inactive.
You might also get notified if someone tries to snoop on your message when the link is already opened. One time notes work like a self-destruct button that when the receiver clicks on the link, the data and the link are destroyed, and it will no longer work.
Is One-Time Notes Safe To Use?
While the main idea behind creating the concept of one-time notes was to give people the luxury of secure and discreet messaging, it also has become a popular means for illegal activities.
For example, blackmailers often use one-time notes to send threats and evidence to their victims without worrying about the trace returning to them.
Unlike your regular user of the one-time note, these perpetrators often use different methods to ensure they leave no trail behind. For instance, shortening the URL means no one will know which website they used to send the message. These links are then wiped clean from the service, so after the message has been sent, an inactive link is left with the victim.